Aaron Dembski-Bowden

Don't worry. None of this blood is mine.

The Great Crusade – Short Fiction Contest

For the record, I’m judging a pre-Heresy short fiction contest soon, which I’m (bizarrely…) really looking forward to. It’s for The Great Crusade forum, which I literally cannot endorse enough when it comes to those pesky 30K needs.

Obviously, I’m not allowed to know who submitted what, or I’d just choose the sexiest person as the winner. Truly, it’s a curse to be so insufferably shallow.

But if you’re interested, the details can be found in a Sticky post, right here: http://z15.invisionfree.com/The_Great_Crusade/index.php?showforum=2

In other news, I’m finishing Blood Reaver this weekend; test-readings have been very positive; and Brett Duckley asked me to tell you all that a) You’re swine, and b) He’s almost finished answering all your inquiries and will post soon. (There were fucking loads, guys. Jeez.)

I’ve been getting a bajillion emails in recent months asking about how to model Talos and First Claw, especially relating to whether their gear changes in Blood Reaver. (Yes, some of it does.) The answer “However the hell you like; please leave me alone” isn’t working any more, so to that end, I’m working on commissioning an artist to cook up something a little more definitive.

For now, I leave you with something I made just for you:

 

December 15, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

17 Comments »

  1. 1) It would be interesting seeing how those Great Crusade stories turns out since I think it havent touched enough as a subject and story-wise.
    2) Awesome that the novel is done soon. Looking forward to that one. Your spoilers are evul.
    3) Also looking forward to the models. Hahah sucks to be you and having a lawyer duck being attacked with questions all the time. I think this is the reason why Abnett stays away from the internet and being too much interactive with his fans so he doesnt have to stand with all the questions hes getting.

    Comment by Forkmaster | December 15, 2010 | Reply

  2. I remember offering my proof-reading services (such are they are…which isn’t saying much) to Laurie for this competition.

    He swore he’d made me regret such an offer….but that’s all I ever heard of the matter.

    Hope it all goes well either way.

    Comment by Xhalax | December 15, 2010 | Reply

  3. Hmmm I’ve been working on a little story about a failed White Scars compliance, mayhap I’ll take a look. Although only a thousand words is a boomerang to the nads.

    Comment by Tim Sweeney | December 16, 2010 | Reply

    • White Scars never fail dude. :p

      Comment by Ilmarinen | December 16, 2010 | Reply

      • I wound up doing something completely different haha, just glad I submitted.

        Really excited about this competition…but I was right that 1000 words was a fething nightmare.

        Comment by Tim Sweeney | December 30, 2010 | Reply

  4. Ahem…plug.

    Comment by DantheDman | December 16, 2010 | Reply

  5. For some reason my enrty never seems to make it.
    There once was a Marine from Nantuckett,whos…:p

    On an unrelated note what are your thoughts on the new MMO’s coming out
    DC hereos,Old Replubic,and of course 40k.
    If I was you I would try to get them to make you a special character to use,because you know you are going to sucked into the 40k one.
    Make them give you a Night Lord skin that you can share with your guild.
    How cool would that be 20 Night Lords in PvP “We have come for you”

    Comment by BigWill | December 17, 2010 | Reply

  6. I laughed.

    Comment by Andreas F | December 18, 2010 | Reply

  7. Just how good Brett tastes? I had duck once, a bit greasy, but otherwise very tasty.
    No, I’m not scheming, just mildly curious.
    And about this competition: will any of these stories ever make it to BL? Because I say, if they’re promising, they should be forwarded to BL with the ADB Stamp of Approval.

    Comment by TheSGC | December 18, 2010 | Reply

  8. Never mind. I didn’t read the post at TGC before I asked about BL.

    Comment by TheSGC | December 18, 2010 | Reply

  9. ADB, Completely off topic, but something I am positive that you would appreciate: http://assberryfaggot.deviantart.com/art/The-Gingerperor-190600387

    Somebody made a scale model of an Emperor-class titan. Out of gingerbread.

    Comment by Dante | December 23, 2010 | Reply

  10. TheSGC – interestingly enough, since this year’s TGC contest was set up, I have been appointed as Black Library’s new Submissions Editor… so these stories *will* be seen by BL, albeit unofficially!

    Oh yeah, Aaron – I have been appointed as Black Library’s new Submissions Editor, by the way. Woot!

    Comment by Laurie | December 23, 2010 | Reply

    • Woop woop!

      Comment by Motach | December 24, 2010 | Reply

  11. Hi Aaron,
    Any chance you could give us some tips on how you would submit a synopsis to the BL?

    Maybe you’ve got a few old ones kicking about we could learn from?

    Cheers for reading fella.

    Comment by Mark | December 29, 2010 | Reply

  12. “Mark” why the hell would he do that?

    Comment by PK | January 3, 2011 | Reply

    • We’ve all gotta start somewhere chap. Anyway its only a question, its not like I’ve asked him to bend my mother over now is it?

      Comment by Mark | January 3, 2011 | Reply

  13. Is your Mom a MILF?
    It might help :p

    Comment by BigWill | January 6, 2011 | Reply


Leave a comment