Aaron Dembski-Bowden

Don't worry. None of this blood is mine.

As 2012 Draws to a Close…

I mentioned this in my Facebook/Twitter splurging a few days back, but If I don’t get another chance to say it before the Big Day when 2012 becomes 2013, then Happy Holidays, Season’s Greetings, and a Happy New Year to everyone whose eyes fall over these words.

The last 12 months have been tough, enlightening, and amazing. Alexander came along, and is already walking (as long as he has something nearby to grab onto). I wrote my second Horus Heresy novel over the course of 9 months, which was “the hardest one to write yet”, just like I say about everything I write. Every novel is the hardest while I’m writing it, and the one I hate the most once it’s released. I think that’s just a hazard of the job. When you spend ages making something and that many people are staring at it, it doesn’t matter what they say. All you see are the holes and imperfections.

In other news, I constructed my games room (not on my own, obviously), so now I can say “Gentlemen, to the Aaronorium” with a straight face. I might even start saying it to strangers in the street. I’ll do it without blinking, for maximum effect.

This is the first year I’ve ever been in a position not to be freaking out that I’ll end up in the gutter come tax month, and you might think that finding my feet financially (along with being married for a year, and having a baby boy) would encourage me to actually get some writing done much faster than usual. Nice theory.

However, if you thought that, you’d be wrong. I’m still as slow as ever.

My bad.

I’m currently getting close to finishing Blood & Fire, which is a little (well, a quite long, actually) tale featuring the words Season of Fire, Armageddon, Celestial Lions, Grimaldus, as well as the name of a certain Chapter that dresses in a blackish templarish way, and – of course – the name of a certain stormtrooper has been mentioned more than once.

After Blood & Fire, I’m starting The Talon of Horus, and I couldn’t be more psyched about it. Not much to say at this stage, except that the main character will be at the right hand of Abaddon through the fall of the Sons of Horus and the rise of the Black Legion, over the course of 10,000 years. Yeah, unless I get killed or banned from touching the IP, this series threatens to be a long one. If you’ve read Bernard Cornwell’s Warlord Chronicles (about “King” Arthur) or Steven Pressfield’s novels of Ancient Greece (Gates of Fire; Tides of War; The Afghan Campaign, etc.) then you’ll know the atmosphere.

The main character’s name is Inaros Khayon, though he has many, many, many titles by 999.M41, and hardly anyone knows his real name by then.

I’m dimly aware that I owe a few updates about my Heresy and 40K armies, so that’ll be inbound in January.

But thank you for enjoying what I do – evidently enough for me to have done it for another year. Thanks for all the feedback, and for taking time to review anything you’ve reviewed on blogs, on Amazon, on Goodreads, or wherever else. Best wishes (along with the blessing of your deity of choice, if appropriate) from the newly forged Dembski-Bowden family, on this Christmas morning.

IMG_2837

 

December 25, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , ,

16 Comments »

  1. Merry Christmas! I hope you all have a great Christmas and new year.

    Comment by Keneth | December 25, 2012 | Reply

  2. No Aaron, thank you. I can’t adequately express in words how much I love your books, and your blog is just shitloads of fun. I can’t wait to read your stuff for years to come.

    Comment by Greg Whiting | December 25, 2012 | Reply

  3. Merry Christmas and a happy new year, keep up the great work (like literally one of the five best fiction writers around at the moment I think – ok enough fanboi 😉 ).

    Also lovely to see someone revelling in the new experience of a first family Christmas. Hope it is everything you both wish and there are many more to follow.

    Comment by Ed barnett | December 25, 2012 | Reply

  4. Merry Christmas to you too! Yoi are without a doubt my favourite black library author. The worst part about betrayer was finishing it and it being all over. May you have many many victories in life and May you also roll plenty of sixes!

    Comment by Janus | December 25, 2012 | Reply

  5. Merry Christmas, and thank you for a year of great books, a fun blog, and lots of facebook interaction with your fans.

    Comment by majestyk0012 | December 25, 2012 | Reply

  6. Merry Christmas! Thank you so much for Void Stalker, The Emperor’s Gift and Betrayer. They’re my favourite novels of 2012. Really looking forward to The Talon of Horus and its successors, especially as ‘Gates of Fire’ is probably the strongest historical novel I’ve ever read and I think 40K as a setting will really benefit from you taking the time to flesh out Abbadon, both as a character and the events that held to his ascension to Warmaster.

    Comment by Lucifer216 | December 25, 2012 | Reply

  7. Merry Christmas to you and the family Aaron! Thank you for all the entertainment you bring us 🙂

    Comment by qui3tman | December 25, 2012 | Reply

  8. Better hope Ahriman doesn’t make a raid on the Aaronorium. Happy Holidays to you and yours my friend.

    Comment by dcbrave | December 25, 2012 | Reply

  9. And Merry Christmas to you! Thank you so much for Sevatar, The Emperor’s Gift and Betrayer! I really hope that you will not kill Skane, thats the last nickname whose wielder is still alive =) My Argel Tal nick is now officialy dead, my Anakwanar Sek (i hope you know who this guy is – if not, ask Abnett) is going to die pretty soon – with the 14th book on September 2013, Sorot Tchure will definitely not survive Macragges Honour. So please don’t kill Skane – or i would be obliged to use my starcraft 2 nicknames =(, AND I HATE THEM! Merry Christmas and New Year , you are really one of the most talented writers, whose books i have read

    Comment by Anakwanar Sek | December 26, 2012 | Reply

  10. Merry Christmas and a happy New Years to you and the family! 🙂

    Comment by Forkmaster | December 26, 2012 | Reply

  11. Inaros? He is the former Thousand Son you mentioned in your last blog post, no? Is that instead of, or in addition to, Zaidu and Arkytas and Telemachon and Salicar then (Christ how the fuck do I remember this stuff…)
    Well then… Merry Merry Christmas to you and the fam and have a Happy New Year! Thank you, as always, for writing such amazing stuff and putting your fellow BL authors to shame. Got Betrayer on Christmas morning, spent the whole day reading it. Cracking stuff. Poor Argel Tal. That arsehole Erebus.
    What a difference 12 months make, eh? In that stretch I properly saw and heard you for the first time (albeit through a faulty Skype link), finally managed to meet you and shake your hand at Games Day (‘Hey… I know you from Facebook!’) and listen to you doing what you – even if you won’t admit it – do best… talking about your amazing work at the Weekender.
    Keep ‘em coming, dude! You can do no wrong.
    Merry Christmas! From Vijay.

    Comment by Vijay | December 26, 2012 | Reply

  12. Please don’t tease me like this. The Warlord chronicles and those Pressfield books are my favourite books of all time?!!!

    Comment by Xanthos | December 26, 2012 | Reply

  13. I will add my thanks for giving me many hours of well spent entertainment. Thoroughly enjoyed Prince of Crows and I am now finally started on Soul Hunter (and enjoying it immensely) which is cool as I get to read the trilogy back-to-back with a Night Lords HH pre-taster!

    Psyched about the “Warmaster Chronicles”.

    Despite following your blog “Blood & Fire” was news to me. Is this a short/novella/novel/audio? When will we get our hands on it?

    Merry xmas and a good 2013 to you and the family.

    The Duke.

    Comment by Duke_Leto | December 27, 2012 | Reply

  14. Happy holidays! I am enjoying Betrayer immensely right now. It feels like I am breaking 4th wall writing a comment on your blog. I hope you are having a wonderful time with your family.

    Comment by John Stiening | December 28, 2012 | Reply

  15. ADB, could I just ask you one thing about Betrayer – why was Angron so ridiculously pathetic? What would have been wrong with giving the psychotic bastard his moment to shine – kicking loyalist tail and ascending triumphantly, roaring his victory over the broken corpses of his enemies? Instead, he never even learns who Khorne is, and Lorgar arranges for his ascension out of pity, and with sorcery of all things. Pity and sorcery are about the least Khornate things there are. And then Lorgar just casually overpowers him and locks him in the basement. What would have been wrong with Angron being strong, like every other Primarch in the series?

    Comment by Vyros | December 29, 2012 | Reply

  16. Inaros Khayon. A Black Legionnaire who is Abaddon’s right-hand man, used to hang out with the Thousand Sons and has many many many titles by 999.M41 meaning he lives that long.

    Awesome. Can’t wait to learn more about him and the series. 😀

    Comment by Lord of the Night | December 29, 2012 | Reply


Leave a comment