Aaron Dembski-Bowden

Don't worry. None of this blood is mine.

Dreadnoughts

Since Forge World released the Contemptor-pattern Dreadnought, I’ve been extremely well aware that one of them is absolutely going to be a major, major character in my next Horus Heresy novel, Betrayer. I was originally tempted to try and get him on the cover, but in the end I wimped out and went with something reliable (and, I’ll add, absolutely brutal in the final showing).

I also want one or two of them for my slow-growing Chaos Marine army because, hey, Forge World is totally cheap, right? And it’s not like I have a baby on the way in 4 weeks, is it?

Anyway, on a break from work just now, I saw this on B&C’s Post Your Dreadnought thread, by GuitaRasmus:

Now, using an age-old style of hobby craftsmanship that we call “copying”, I’m going to try and do that wickedly cool Skaven wrecking ball on my future Contemptor.

Of course, seeing rad stuff like this just makes me despise the people who have armies looking that good, but whatever. Let’s all be friends.

No bitz sites had any spare bits, but a couple of people on my Facebook page (go click Like, ta) have already offered a helping hand on that score.

Here’s my formula for success:

…plus…

…plus…

…equals Fucking Awesome.

January 26, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , ,

13 Comments »

  1. bitchin’.

    Comment by Commissar Ploss | January 26, 2012 | Reply

  2. Sweeet 😀 Hey, what’s the first picture of? Is that an old-style Dreadnought?

    Comment by Christopher Meyer | January 26, 2012 | Reply

  3. Honestly? That’s how I’ve always wanted the Dreadnought to look! The boxy version always bothered me when I tried to figure out how it moved. The legs just suggest to me that it waddles across the battlefield, barely able to stay on it’s own feet.

    Comment by John Kennedy | January 26, 2012 | Reply

  4. Wicked stuff ADB!

    Comment by Larry Killian | January 26, 2012 | Reply

  5. Goddammit that is balls to the wall fucking awesome. 😀 And nice to reveal what one of the characters will be. There haven’t been enough Drednoughts around the HH so far.

    Comment by Forkmaster | January 26, 2012 | Reply

  6. Will that character dreadnought in Betrayer resemble Bale in any way?

    Comment by Christopher Buckle | January 26, 2012 | Reply

  7. I’m honoured that I have inspired you with my dread. 🙂 Be sure to check out my blog at dakkadakka, where there’s lots of far out conversions: http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/395043.page (the nurgle stuff is on the later pages, a lot of Khorne stuff too)

    I’ll have to give you a big compliment; the description of the warp, the possessed, and most of all, the way Ingethels tells the story, in The First Heretic, is hands down some of the best 40k literature I’ve ever read. You have an amazing knack for capturing Chaos – consider me a very big fan. 🙂

    Best regards, Rasmus Rask. (GuitaRasmus)

    Comment by Rasmus Rask | January 26, 2012 | Reply

  8. Here are my Siege of Terra World Eaters for you to peruse
    http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/410268.page

    Comment by Bigwill | January 28, 2012 | Reply

    • The older armour marks look really good there.

      In the spirit of Aaron’s post, I’m stealing some ideas here!

      Comment by G | January 31, 2012 | Reply

  9. You’re writing The Lord Inquisitor’s story?!?!? Dude, please, do a blog post or something man!!!!!

    Comment by TheSGC | February 5, 2012 | Reply

  10. Yeah, that is incredible. Consider the idea stolen again.

    Comment by TheKingElessar (@TheKingElessar) | February 7, 2012 | Reply

  11. I just bought a relic contemptor dreadnought and a black templars venerable dread from forgeworld because of this post. Fuck man my children will have to be put on half rations the rest of the month ><

    Comment by Andreas F | February 12, 2012 | Reply


Leave a comment