Aaron Dembski-Bowden

Don't worry. None of this blood is mine.

Talon, out in the wild.

People have started getting their First Edition copies of The Talon of Horus, and I’ve already been sent a couple of initial comments along with a surprising number of selfies for The Contest. And I was pretty damn happy to be sent some initial comments from first-day readers Lucien Eilam and Balthamal:

  • “It’s all juice. A veritable Chekhov’s arsenal of foreshadowing. There’s barely a chapter you’ll be able to make it through without going “hang on, he did what to who?!” or similar. A lot of people are going to be starting Black Legion armies this year. I’d advise against [getting spoilers]. Like Legion, I think it’s a story that’s better if you get the surprises and revelations in the right order.”
  • “Finished it. Want to crank my jaw off the floor and try to wrap my broken mind around it. In short this has been knocked so far out the park it’s gone intercontinental.”

And, with terrifying enthusiasm, this from Facebook:

1

That bodes well. And here are some pics of that bad boy getting unwrapped in the great wide world, on various people’s desks and carpets:

10646748_10152689699280429_5222048862282029179_n 14885322230_7aefe07140_b Stuart Evans

I’m saving the selfies for the actual contest, but some of them are absolutely adorable.

I think the most surprising aspect (on my end of things, at least) is how amazing it felt to actually see people with their copies. Outside of book signings (which are honestly too surreal and chaotic to really allow any focus) you rarely actually see people with your books in their hands. It was equal parts reassuring and weird, but mostly I’m glad everyone was so happy to get them, and commenting on the insane production values.

In other news, I said a while back that I had the internal artwork and the cover framed and on the wall of the Aaronorium, and they look awesome all up there together. This is indeed true. Behold the evidence:

New Artwork

 

August 30, 2014 - Posted by | Uncategorized

23 Comments »

  1. My heart bleeds out from envy, just looking at that wall

    Comment by Anakwanar | August 30, 2014 | Reply

  2. I thought photos of books were called “shelfies”…

    I’ll let myself out.

    Comment by wildbilbo | August 30, 2014 | Reply

    • You’re not everything wrong with the world. But you do contribute.

      Comment by Aaron Dembski-Bowden | August 30, 2014 | Reply

  3. I arrived home last night, drunken birthday missus over shoulder, to discover the dreaded red slip from the local post office.
    “Too big”, it reads.
    Blinded by rage, I slept the sleep of the damned, and now I have awoken, thirsty for vengeance still yet to come.
    I away to the sorting office, questing for this mighty tome.
    My retribution will be bloody and swift, and then, then, there will be book.

    Comment by Joe Waits | August 30, 2014 | Reply

  4. Is that a havoc with a berzerker helmet? YOU HAVE UPSET THE NATURAL ORDER!
    (and I like it)

    Comment by Kesso | August 30, 2014 | Reply

  5. (Walking to my mailbox, half awake with Baby James in arms)
    “Still empty…I loath you standard shipping… and your masters.”

    Baby James: Check out what I sent you in my mailbox. Its a talon of sorts.

    Comment by c-w-sigg | August 30, 2014 | Reply

  6. Am I the only one that looks what books do you have? I see Space Wolf, Iron Warriors, Word Bearers, Ciaphas Cain or two of them, The Lost? (not sure, some Gaunt’s Ghosts for sure, maybe The Saint), Hammer of the Emperor, Cadian Blood, The Best of Hammer and Bolter. I want to see your books.

    Comment by Rafał Lehnert | August 30, 2014 | Reply

    • I only keep 40K / gaming stuff in the Aaronorium. Most of my books are in my office in the house. But BL send me pretty much every book they publish, which is why I have so many.

      Comment by Aaron Dembski-Bowden | August 30, 2014 | Reply

      • Have you read them all? Do you intend to read them all? Which one do you want to read but haven’t yet because of reasons?

        Also who are those two other guys on those posters? The one with the axe and the one with the dakka.

        Comment by Rafał Lehnert | August 30, 2014

      • No, and no. There’s way too much from BL for me to read it all. I read a few specific authors, though.

        The one with the axe is Ezekyle Abaddon, and the other one is a character called Lheor Firefist.

        Comment by Aaron Dembski-Bowden | August 30, 2014

      • Abaddon without topknot? Extra heretical! Do want! Guess I’ll have to wait for regular hardcover….

        Comment by Rafał Lehnert | August 30, 2014

      • He, uh, lost his topknot servitor.

        Comment by Aaron Dembski-Bowden | August 30, 2014

  7. I notice you keep the rum near the paint. That particular skill set come in handy when it’s time to primer?

    Comment by Khestra the Unbeheld | August 30, 2014 | Reply

    • There’s so much fucking alcohol up there, it’s unreal. The photo cuts off very, very early.

      Also, that’s Boba Fett Space Rum, which my Deathwatch GM got for me.

      Comment by Aaron Dembski-Bowden | August 30, 2014 | Reply

      • It’s a clever DM that attempts to murder a player because he fears that player’s character.

        Comment by Khestra the Unbeheld | August 31, 2014

  8. I missed the mailman today. Probably because he didn’t bother to knock and just put the slip in the door. Now I have to wait until Monday to savour the Chaoesy goodness.

    Comment by Kev | August 30, 2014 | Reply

  9. Got my copy and started reading it when I said ‘but wait…shouldn’t we finish the Heresy novels first?’ I mean I now know Falkus survived Terra. How will getting into this series now affect the Heresy in terms of prematurely exposing us to spoilers?
    In any event your my favorite 40k/Heresy writer and I’m grateful the book arrived on a long weekend Friday. I’m plum out of excuses for calling in sick.

    Comment by Kobi Impraim | September 1, 2014 | Reply

  10. Got my book yesterday – opened it with the GF, who thought it “cute” to get so excited over a novel, even if she did find the leather lovely. Read the introduction, loved it, slightly dissappointed that it was not signed. I guess I will have to track the author down and demand a scribbly signature 😉 Cannot wait to get into the meat of the novel.

    /JBP

    Comment by JBP | September 2, 2014 | Reply

  11. just finished reading the talons of horus after a 12 hour non stop readalong. and the only thing i can say is OMG, this is better then any thing i have ever read ever except for the work of Mr terry pratchett, but as mr discworld writes about comedy fantasy , i feel you are a better writer.

    the only thing i can say about this book is if there was a oscar for books you would get best movie award.

    i am sure whenever the rest of the writers at bl read your books they turn green with envy because they know they can never equal your art.

    Comment by jorawar | September 26, 2014 | Reply

  12. I loved it. I especially loved that our protagonist binds demons to cards, Yu Gi-Oh style and it was only after I’d finished did I suddenly realise this. .

    Comment by Heart of the Cards | October 2, 2014 | Reply

  13. When are you going to show the selfie contest winners?

    Comment by Gabura Adrian | October 2, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

