Aaron Dembski-Bowden

Don't worry. None of this blood is mine.

What’s on my desktop this month…

The last Desktop Watch came at the end of my Mega-Photo Canada Update(TM), but with deadlines looming and Alexander’s first birthday party this weekend, there’s only time for a flyby teaser.

Here’re the Word.docs I’ve got going on in the January/February/March period. Hey, I never promised this game would a) Be regular; or b) Be any fun.

Desktop Watch 2

As you can probably guess from the background, I finished TWD. In all honesty, The Walking Dead game deserves a much better post than I’m capable of making, but I’ll give it a shot at some point. For now, let’s just say I finished it about two weeks ago, and it was one of the most intense, evocative storytelling experiences of my whole life. I think it’s won about 100 Game of the Year awards by this point, and it deserves every single fucking one of them.

I was crying so hard at the end, when I went downstairs to tell Katie it was over, I was having trouble talking and breathing. That’s not an exaggeration. It may be less than cool, sure, but it’s not an exaggeration.

A Sad Truth

Another Sad Truth

As for the actual Desktop Watch, it runs a little like this:

  • Howl of the Birthworld is my first Space Wolf pack, for ToFH.
  • Blood & Fire (Rewrite) – A sequel story to Helsreach, where Grimaldus intervenes with the Celestial Lions before they can destroy themselves. I did almost all of it in first-person present tense, then decided I hated it, and spent three days rewriting it first-person past tense. It’s almost finished now.
  • First King of Rome – Is a secret.
  • Blood in the Water – A Horus Heresy Blood Angel short story, and a prequel to Master of Mankind, my next HH novel.
  • The Lord Inquisitor – The current script for The Lord Inquisitor movie, obviously.

The first month of our Tale of Five Heretics is getting close to its update, and it’ll come as no surprise for y’all to learn that in the time it’s taken me and John to build and paint 5 Marines each, Eddie has painted 20, as well as a converted Contemptor Dreadnought, and managed to build a Land Raider just for kicks.  

Howl of the Birthworld

You don’t get to know their names until they’re painted.

February 19, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | ,

12 Comments »

  1. Glad to see your writing BAs, Gaius Point was a great short. I definately feel you have sonething to offer any Sons of Sanguinious.
    Looking forward to the TOFR update!
    If you didnt know me and some mutual aquaintances have took inspiration and jumped on the band wagon…some of them are real fast builders and painters….who am i to reign in that enthuisiasm. Im on my first
    squad of five at the moment, but im getting there…steady pace an all that.
    Caranarvons Bastards are on the way!

    Comment by Bigg | February 19, 2013 | Reply

  2. They still look badass, dude. Looking forward to seeing paint on them 🙂

    Comment by Ead | February 19, 2013 | Reply

  3. You have surprised me. And not only have the problem of painting, I´m too. You have five to paint and i have almost two hundred miniatures for paint, marines and caotics. And this is really hard. In my Luna Wolves army i have almost one hundred miniature for paint, and the caotics, the Udyat (in ancient egypt, Eye of Horus) Chosen another hundred nearby. At least I have it Loken miniature finished and painted, that’s something.

    Comment by Juan Manuel Vallejo | February 19, 2013 | Reply

  4. Blood in the Water – A Horus Heresy Blood Angel short story, and a prequel to Master of Mankind, my next HH novel.

    /Homer Simpson Voice: Finally. Nah seriously, I couldn’t be more excited. For a long time I’ve felt the Blood Angels haven’t been properly presented, or should I say presented to my taste in BL fiction, and I’m glad to see that change. I’m convinced you will do ’em justice, and hopefully they’ll feature heavily in Master of Mankind.

    Hurrah! 🙂

    Comment by Terrahawk | February 19, 2013 | Reply

  5. The Grimaldus story, I take it that’s a short one? Or are they actually letting you do a whole sequel novel to that? (given that you could probably do like, ten novels, if you wanted to document everything happening on Armageddon at any given moment. That planet is party town.)

    Comment by Mazed | February 19, 2013 | Reply

  6. Looking forward to Blood and Fire. The Celestial Lions are an awesome chapter and getting to find out their fate will be very nice. And Grimaldus will be back! But more importantly, so will Andrej. 😀

    I do have a question thought. A while back you posted an exert from Godblood, which I can only assume is the original novel you mentioned some time ago. My question is, what’s happening with that??

    Comment by Lord of the Night | February 19, 2013 | Reply

  7. ETA on the BA and BaF?

    Comment by TheSGC | February 21, 2013 | Reply

  8. TWD is a great game. A f…..g great game.
    Yards over the comics and miles over the TV show.
    ‘Nuff said.
    I’m amazingly pleased than even a writer, praised as you are for his writing skills, liked it (even if “liked” seems to be an understandibly weak word).

    Oh and “wait, what?” Master of Mankind, like in the “Master of Mankind”?

    Comment by Le_Captain | February 21, 2013 | Reply

  9. I’m really looking forward to that short, will it be published in a anthology in any close future? 🙂

    Comment by Forkmaster | February 21, 2013 | Reply

  10. The scary thing is, I’m betting that even with painting 5 marines, it’s still faster than me…

    Comment by Compel Bast (@Compel_Bast) | February 25, 2013 | Reply

  11. Finished the Walkind Dead today. I also cried. Best game and storytelling experience of my life. Thank you Aaron, it was your post that drew my attention to this game.

    BTW, Telltale games mentioned two things recently: season 2 of the game is in the making (they’re figuring out how to implement the decisions from season 1 into it) and they’ve also mentioned that some form of 1.5 version linking the two season will appear first.

    Comment by Jan S | February 27, 2013 | Reply

  12. Don´t destroy the remains of the Celestial Lions Chapter ! Give them revenge !

    Comment by Jesús Martínez | May 18, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

