Aaron Dembski-Bowden

Don't worry. None of this blood is mine.

Some of you might like to see this…

Today is a curious day. Whenever a day like this happens, there’s always a heady mix of overspilling excitement and the vertigo of a blank page. There’s also endless hitting of the Delete key, as you think to yourself “Actually, wait, it’ll be better if I start it like this instead…”

But I thought some of you might like to see this.

And so it begins.

June 23, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized | ,

31 Comments »

  1. Rocking!! Quite insightful. Thanks for the sneak-peak🙂

    Comment by AJ | June 23, 2011 | Reply

  2. Mad props for taking the time to format as you write!

    Comment by Graeme | June 23, 2011 | Reply

  3. Ooooh! I really can’t wait to get some pre-heresy Night Lords love; it’s been too long coming.

    Comment by Seregon | June 23, 2011 | Reply

    • (Yes, I’m aware of this being Void Stalker, but I’ll take any scrap I can get..)

      Comment by Seregon | June 23, 2011 | Reply

  4. That gave me goosepimples😀

    Comment by Marc Collins | June 23, 2011 | Reply

    • My name is ADB and I am a slave…

      Comment by Dave! | June 23, 2011 | Reply

  5. Nice! Just read Army of Darkness and thought they did a great job by leaving your story last!

    Comment by Michael | June 23, 2011 | Reply

    • Surely that was Sam Raimi…

      Comment by Nazaradine | June 24, 2011 | Reply

  6. Ah, the guy is a little honourable. At least, to his own.

    He’s still going to die for Alajos, though. You mark my words. Heh heh.

    Comment by Rob Ashley White | June 23, 2011 | Reply

  7. Sahaal is the coolest Night Lord not Sevatar, must resist…

    Seriously though I always love these little quotes at the start of chapters and this is perhaps the best I have read.

    Comment by Andrew | June 23, 2011 | Reply

  8. @Rob – You need to read Age of Darkness…

    Comment by Michael | June 23, 2011 | Reply

    • @Michael – thanks man, but I’ve read it, and at that I’ve read Aaron’s story about a zillion times, as I’m a complete Dark Angels dork!😉

      Comment by Rob Ashley White | June 24, 2011 | Reply

  9. This is made of win. You are a winsmith.

    Comment by narrativium | June 23, 2011 | Reply

  10. “The city. London. Londinium. No, no, that’s just shit.”

    Comment by Pinchie | June 23, 2011 | Reply

    • I love you so much.

      I think about that all the freaking time.

      Comment by aarondembskibowden | June 23, 2011 | Reply

  11. more more more!
    i’m torn between being psyked because of this gorgeous little sneak peak and total frustration, because i know it’s gonna be some time until the Night Lords saga continues.

    Comment by Wicced | June 23, 2011 | Reply

  12. Damm damm damm! Now I have to wait ages to read this.

    Comment by Forkmaster | June 23, 2011 | Reply

  13. Oh. Very interesting last name you have there, Mr….

    And now I’m frustrated because I will have to wait so long to read this.

    Comment by Liliedhe | June 23, 2011 | Reply

  14. Cant wait!!😀

    Comment by Jimmi Gustafsson | June 23, 2011 | Reply

  15. Sevatar is one of my favourite characters in the HH series and we’ve not even seen that much of him so far! Can’t wait for this!

    Comment by Craig | June 23, 2011 | Reply

  16. Write a book of made up quotes, it’ll sell MILLIONS!

    Comment by Tim Sweeney | June 23, 2011 | Reply

  17. Ah, its a Sevatar quote. I will admit when you introduced him in First Heretic and then in Age of Darkness I was visibly impressed with how he had so much character. Plus he wields a chain-spear. That is just cool. Can’t wait for next year when Void Hunter comes out.

    Comment by DarkMechanicum | June 24, 2011 | Reply

  18. This is optimal😉

    Comment by G. Wilcox | June 24, 2011 | Reply

  19. Man I love sevatar. Great stuff.

    Comment by yogi | June 24, 2011 | Reply

  20. sentimental rubbish, do better man.

    Comment by Schafe | June 24, 2011 | Reply

  21. Also can’t wait for Void Hunter! And you should do more short stories too (to spread the ADB touch to other legions/chapters :-))

    Comment by C. Tran | June 24, 2011 | Reply

  22. I’m a Sahaal fan myself, thus why I got excited when him and Acerbus were referenced in Blood Reaver. Sevatar is crunk and all, but I’m looking forward to some HH Sahaal action. I’m pretty upset though that Void Stalker will probably be the last book…everyone knows that all the cool black library kids do stuff in 6’s….

    Comment by S | June 24, 2011 | Reply

    • I wouldn’t expect to see Sahaal. His story is pretty much done, and I’ve not got any real interest in writing him into the Heresy, for a squillion reasons already listed elsewhere.

      Comment by aarondembskibowden | June 24, 2011 | Reply

      • You should write him into the Heresy series, and them kill him in a truly humiliating way, like losing a duel with a limbless servitor, or being ruthlessly sodomised by the Axemaster (fucking Axemaster, seriously?!) with his totally sick relic guitar signed by all the members of Judas Priest.

        Besides the immense personal satisfaction of ending the incessant arguments over whether Curze was right or not, it’d have the added bonus of making Lord of the Night completely obsolete, thus causing 20,000% MORE nerdrage!

        Added bonus points if you have Talos wake up and realise that Sahaal’s entire story was a bad trip caused by scarfing too much loyalist geneseed before bed.

        Comment by Tim Sweeney | June 25, 2011

      • But is it possible, when and if you do a HH night lords novel, not to include Sahaal at least a bit ? For example, when the captains gather, Sahaal needs to be there I think, if he is not on some other campaign far away. Or am I wrong ?

        Comment by Bastiaan Vergoossen | June 27, 2011

  23. Awesome little blurb, cant help but notice that you lost though. Damn, that mean I lost too.

    Comment by BrotherStynier | July 1, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

