Aaron Dembski-Bowden

Don't worry. None of this blood is mine.

HAH’DEZ IT FEEL?

Here’s a slice of my thought processes last night, as I finally started watching Flash Forward, years late:

“This show is is okay. I mean, the book worked on deeper levels, but this is cool when Joseph Fiennes isn’t being hammy. I preferred the Hadron Collider stuff, but a hobbit being behind it all is kind of cool, too. I like John Cho. I liked the tension with the senator lady, that was pretty coo– Oh, man. A grenade launcher? Really? Oh, Jesus, a gunfight in a car park? For really reals? What is this, Highlander: the CSI Years? Look, Flash Forward, I’m really trying to like you, but you’ve lost me with this. I prefer it when… Oh, my God. Oh, man. Oh, HOLY FUCK, THIS IS THE COOLEST THING I’VE EVER SEEN.”

Dear entertainment media,

Some songs make everything better. This is one of them.

Yours Sincerely,

Aaron Dembski-Bowden

May 10, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

15 Comments »

  1. From the title, I thought you were writing about the song “Suck” by Nine Inch Nails. Is that show still on?

    Comment by dethmunky | May 10, 2011 | Reply

  2. After the first few episodes I just stopped caring.

    Watch The Walking Dead instead….all the episodes I’ve seen so far (5 of the 6 in the first series) and been nothing less than brilliant. Plus there’s zombies!

    That is all.

    Comment by Xhalax | May 10, 2011 | Reply

    • I second this,Walking Dead is one of the best shows out there right now.
      Another one is Breaking Bad.

      Comment by Bigwill | May 13, 2011 | Reply

  3. Aaron, please tell me you’ve seen “The Losers”?

    There’s a gunfight in there, set to Journey.

    A GUNFIGHT. TO JOURNEY.

    What’s more it’s not even something like Wheel in the Sky.

    It’s a gunfight. To “Don’t Stop Believing”.
    That alone makes the movie.

    Comment by Nick Risley | May 10, 2011 | Reply

  4. Ha dethmonkey, I had actually the same reaction. I was about to congratuate Aaron on his good taste in music.

    Comment by Londinium | May 10, 2011 | Reply

  5. i agree with nick and you, music makes all gunfights all the more cooler. I die to rock and roll..oh and the 12 gauge

    Comment by J.Sibley | May 10, 2011 | Reply

  6. I now have to watch this series.

    Comment by Hobo | May 10, 2011 | Reply

  7. I recall a gunfight to unconvential music set peiece in the film Face-Off, but I think it was intended as more of a contrast thingy than for homour.

    Comment by Rob P | May 10, 2011 | Reply

  8. Nice. Hey Aaron! I’ve nominated your blog for a Stylish Blogger Award. Check out my blog for more details http://bloodandblades.blogspot.com.

    Comment by HuronBH | May 11, 2011 | Reply

    • I wanted to say it’s from the Bob Dylan 30th Anniversary Concert held two decades ago, but the Stones weren’t there. Hmmm… this will kill me. I spent about half my life as a classic rock snob.

      Comment by Jim | May 18, 2011 | Reply

  9. Well, it’s not the original Bob Dylan version (which is better) but i’ll live. 🙂

    CP

    Comment by Commissar Ploss | May 12, 2011 | Reply

  10. Bob Dylan makes everything better.

    Comment by Carcosa | May 12, 2011 | Reply

  11. wow i respect any show that has the balls to do something like that.

    On a side note, have you seen Game of Thrones? If so, what do you think of it?

    Comment by Byron | May 13, 2011 | Reply

  12. I’d had an awful day, came home and watched that, laughed my freaking arse off and feel much better. Thank you for sharing. Thank you so much.

    Comment by Arwen | May 26, 2011 | Reply

  13. Argh!

    Curse my latecomery!

    What did the mysterious dead link show?…..

    Comment by Drmarco | June 9, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

