Aaron Dembski-Bowden

Don't worry. None of this blood is mine.

Video Interview with The Overlords

Because you guys can never see enough of my chubby hamster cheeks:

Joking aside, after the shy first couple of minutes, I think this is my fave video interview so far. Insofar as I ever tread closely to being interesting, I think this one offers some actual insight into the whole general writing/Black Library/my own writing deal.

A lot of Horus Heresy chatter in here, for the record.

May 3, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized | ,

22 Comments »

  1. I see some really nice golden hints here and there in this interview. So a potential HH World Eaters novel and perhaps a HH audio drama.

    After seeing the character in Gav Thorpes story in AoD, it would be interesting to see more about them. And I wonder what the drama could be about.

    Comment by Forkmaster | May 3, 2011 | Reply

  2. Apparently, green tea is the key to unlocking the public comfort zone.

    Good call on the “Not staking claims on certain pieces of the IP for novels” for yourself.

    Comment by Khestra the Unbeheld | May 3, 2011 | Reply

  3. WORLD EATERS! Yes! Please please please. I want you to make a World Eaters novel more than anything.

    Comment by Nick Sharps | May 3, 2011 | Reply

  4. Was this filmed in a swimming pool, the wildtrack is proper messy ;p

    Comment by Tom | May 3, 2011 | Reply

  5. More importantly…who is the hot babe serving everyone at the Espresso bar?!?!

    Comment by Lord Tharand | May 3, 2011 | Reply

  6. Cannot see the babe clearly – always those two guys talking over some green tea in the way 🙂

    Comment by Erminio | May 3, 2011 | Reply

  7. I am so arroused right now.

    Comment by Schafe | May 3, 2011 | Reply

  8. Good to hear they went for your angry pitch.
    I like your take on them,can’t wait to read Spartacus.
    I’d like to hear what “Your Book” is about,or is it way too soon.

    Comment by Bigwill | May 4, 2011 | Reply

  9. Oi! Less of the hamster gimmick infringement!

    That aside, cool interview fella.

    Gav

    Comment by Gav Thorpe | May 4, 2011 | Reply

    • Hamster Gimmick Infringement is probably the greatest band name ever. It replaces Duckburster in the Number 1 spot.

      Comment by aarondembskibowden | May 4, 2011 | Reply

      • Duckburster? Hardcore.

        Once masqueraded as a member of Drunken Finn Experiment in Vegas… Our ‘album’ was entitled The Ultimate Lobster Experience. Ask the Tilted Kilt, er I mean McNeill, all about it.

        Comment by Gav Thorpe | May 4, 2011

  10. Great interview. Lot’s to look forward to.

    Comment by Ryan Parkinson | May 5, 2011 | Reply

  11. Some people who fight for chaos aren’t slaved by it? Come on, you know the reverse is true. Tzeentch basically controls everything Chaos and some that isn’t (the Emperor had the biggest, baddest lie of them all – there were no gods, so Tzeentch looses there).

    Well, great interview, I can’t wait to hear about the next Heresy novel even though that’s a far ways off.

    Comment by TheSGC | May 6, 2011 | Reply

  12. Truly flawless research from these guys, such as asking you about making night lords non-chaos, when they’ve been staunchly anti-chaos ever since the index astartes article they got 8 years ago, and being surprised that a Word Bearers book was heavy on the religion.

    Comment by Patrick | May 7, 2011 | Reply

    • Dont like it dont watch it Patrick. I am not sure I have seen you help the 40k comunity so far.
      As this was just a “sit down and chat s**t” kinda interview I think you could be a bit less bithcy about it.
      If you have any more hints or tips on interviews please email me on Dagmire@theoverlords.co.uk

      Comment by Dagmire | May 8, 2011 | Reply

    • Well think of it this way,Some people are new to the hobby/genre and do not know as much as yourself.
      Sometimes an interviewer has to ask what seems to be”No shit Sherlock questions”
      But in truth those questions are for the newbies benefit.

      Comment by Bigwill | May 8, 2011 | Reply

  13. I really enjoyed this.

    I like how you’re still quite bashful when you should start every conversation with ‘Hi, i’m New York Times Bestselling Author’.

    Can we get a confirmation? Is your own project ‘Bonan’?

    Comment by Rob P | May 8, 2011 | Reply

  14. Very cool interview!

    Man, I’m already dreading the day Void Stalker gets released because there’s a chance it might be the last time we hear of my beloved Talos and First Claw. 😦 How am I supposed to go on with my life without Talos and First Claw! Heh.

    Comment by dorian | May 9, 2011 | Reply

  15. Hey Mr Bowden (why do I sound so formal?). Well I got one of these curious questions. Ive noticed now that you tend to like to write in the native language of the Astartes, first Nostraman (or how the heck you call its language) and then Colchisian.

    Do you ever think about remembering the grammar youre using, or what specific words that means something certain? Or are you just kinda making it up as you go?

    Comment by Forkmaster | May 13, 2011 | Reply

  16. Have just, within the past 10 minutes, finished reading ‘Blood Reaver’. Thank you for an insight into ‘the other side’. Owning all the thus far published H.H. books and and an unhealthy myriad of BL, I’d never read anything from the perspective of Chaos Marines. Was most insightful!

    Comment by Scottish_Person | May 25, 2011 | Reply

  17. hey Aaron,I think your latest short in AoD was bad-ass. I love both the dark angels and the Night lords. And always get excited when I see a new novel come out around my area. You and your compatriots at the Black Library do a great job. Is there a fan club of yours that I could write a letter to, to get and autograph?
    Since i live in the backwoods and I don’t think your coming my way any time soon.
    best regards.

    p.s. any tips on how you learned writers grammar or on writing in general. Since, although I speak American English I always get picked on for writing like I would be talking. You know what I mean?

    Comment by neil lauscher | May 30, 2011 | Reply

  18. Aaron – ace interview. Nice one.

    Comment by Thog | May 30, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

