Aaron Dembski-Bowden

Don't worry. None of this blood is mine.

I see a novel in this picture.

Last night, I fancied reading Gone with the Blastwave again, with a mug of green tea (with cranberry), which is surprisingly delicious, and replaces my beloved and much-missed coffee these past few weeks. On a whim, I went a-Googlin’ to see if there was any fan art to check out.

Now, I’m not exactly blessed with a lot of free time. I recently had to put WoW on (permanent?) hold while I finish The Emperor’s Gift, and I’m writing Annabelle’s Blood when I’m not doing that, while also (foolishly) making notes for a potential sci-fi/fantasy series that I’d quite like to write before I die.

So, really, I’m not looking for inspiration. If anything, I’m trying to avoid it. My brainjunk is full to the brim of volatile nonsense, crunching together and making skrash, skrash, skrash sounds, like a giant with no table manners eating Rice Kripsies.

But I totally see a novel in this picture.

"Red", by Morriperkele on Deviantart

April 7, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

23 Comments »

  1. The prelim for Void Stalker materialized on the BL website this morning, rife with “Coming Soon”s all over it and a May 2012 release date. I’m sure that’s a big part of your To-Do list as well.

    The pic screams post-apocalyptica in several dialects; sort of a Badlands meets End of Days vibe, mixed in with some Red Planet and a dash of Dune.

    Comment by Khestra the Unbeheld | April 7, 2011 | Reply

  2. One lone storm-trooper left after all his brothers and sister in arms are dead. Tragic but epic story potential there.

    Comment by Forkmaster | April 7, 2011 | Reply

  3. I really like the use of color. Most post-apocalyptic scenes are this monotonous gray but I really like the red here.

    Comment by Nick Sharps | April 7, 2011 | Reply

  4. Also you need to hurry up with the Grey Knights books!

    Comment by Nick Sharps | April 7, 2011 | Reply

    • Just about to hit the halfway point, as it happens.

      Funnily enough, I was going to message you on Facebook the other day. That’s what keeps the world spinning; total strangers messaging one another for silly reasons.

      Comment by aarondembskibowden | April 7, 2011 | Reply

      • Awesome! Counter’s Grey Knights series is probably one of my favorite pieces of 40K fiction. I can’t wait to see your approach to the best Chapter ever.

        Comment by Nick Sharps | April 10, 2011

  5. I really see a story in the picture as well, to me it could play out two different ways. One way has an underdog force, after a hard fought battle achieving victory against all odds, and this masked warrior sits on amidst the ruble relaxing for the first time in days. The other is similar, though rather than having won the battle his side has been cut off and surrounded, and he watches as the enemy comes to finish the job.

    You know, actually there is a third way this could play out now that I think about it. Its a combination of both prior somewhat, only this time as the warrior sits to relax after a hard fought battle he notices the transports off in the distance, and laments the coming battle.

    My thoughts on it. Anyway, I am looking forward to those new novels.

    Comment by BrotherStynier | April 7, 2011 | Reply

  6. Very nice pic, I see a futuristic world engulfed in trench warfare, a world ruined by war.

    At least thats what I see, not sure what you see but I bet its cool.

    LotN

    Comment by Lord of the Night | April 7, 2011 | Reply

  7. The picture definitely has a post-apocalyptic feel. The story I am seeing in it is that of a scavenger in the ruins of a city ravaged by war and time, at least several years after the massive, devastating war was over. The world as he knew it came to an end, but he survived against all odds, jury-rigging his equipment to live in a poisoned and desolate environment. Now, he is back in the city that he knew in a very different way as a child or a teenager, seeking to retrieve something of value while contending with other scavengers, feral and mutated beasts, and far worse…

    Comment by Midgard | April 7, 2011 | Reply

  8. Yay, another fan of Gone with the Blastwave. Love the humour in that comic, just the creative boredom dodging and pointless killing (with humour).

    The pictures a good poster for an W40k Imperial Guard story on a mechanicus world, or (as above) a nice post apocalypse story. In fact, scrounger, devastated alien world, dead city, intergalactic grace robbing, radioactive alien mutants with a fetish for violence, listening to tribal music (something like country and western music). In fact, sod it, sounds too far fetched… I’ll just be over in the corner making notes on something totally unrelated.

    Comment by binkythebomb | April 7, 2011 | Reply

  9. that picture says to me: “I fought in WW3 and all I got was this lousy gasmask.”

    Comment by Yogi | April 8, 2011 | Reply

  10. You Tube the Sucker Punch animated short “Trenches”
    It is like this picture come to life,You guys will love it.

    Comment by Bigwill | April 8, 2011 | Reply

  11. I miss Gone With The Blastwave.

    I don’t miss having an RSS feed filled with webcomics:

    Dr McNinja,
    Order of the Stick,
    Alien Loves Predator,
    Turn Signals on a Landraider,
    Dr Eldritch,
    GWTB,
    Something about zombies so good I forget the name,
    Questionable Content,
    Freak Angels,
    Lovecraft Is Missing.

    Mostly whittled down to Dr Mc and QC now, though.

    Comment by G | April 8, 2011 | Reply

  12. Also, have you seen *this* embedded in the comments on the last GWTB?

    Gone With The Blastwave from Krister Dalhem on Vimeo.

    It’s like Christopher Nolan’s Gone With The Blastwave!

    Comment by G | April 8, 2011 | Reply

  13. Caption:
    What the freakin’ feth are ‘you’ looking at?

    Comment by Rob Sanders | April 8, 2011 | Reply

  14. Mmm, Gone With The Blastwave. It’s been FOREVER since I looked at that. I laughed like hell at nearly every comic, though, so even counting the long update intervals… (as bas as VGcats? Maybe) it’s probably worth returning to.

    Comment by Mossy | April 8, 2011 | Reply

  15. you could use it in conjunction with this one http://img194.imageshack.us/i/40k026.jpg/

    Comment by kobilisenado | April 8, 2011 | Reply

  16. If anyone could crank out a novel from this picture, its you, Aaron.

    Comment by Ryan Parkinson | April 11, 2011 | Reply

  17. Linking it to 40k I can smell Steel legion and or death korps of krieg =P

    Comment by Fuklaw | April 11, 2011 | Reply

  18. @Fuklaw, the I want to read a book about the civil war on Krieg, that would be epic.

    Comment by Nick Sharps | April 11, 2011 | Reply

    • True, the only book I’ve read about death korps was “Dead men walking”.

      It would be interesting to read how they became so devoid of feelings. To see the evolution of the army (kinda like Grimaldus growing through Helreach but on a larger scale).

      Comment by Fuklaw | April 15, 2011 | Reply

  19. The soldier seems to be looking up, to me doesn’t look weary but is resting. maybe the hard work is now done, or maybe he’s looking up at something approaching.

    Comment by Tom | April 27, 2011 | Reply

  20. The more IG stuff I see you produce the better. My b/f wondered what was up when I started cheering in bed (and he was in another room). Not my fault. Was reading Cadian Blood when the Valk drops off the Kasrikins. Have been hoping for ages you’d find time/inspiration to write more Guard.

    Comment by Arwen | May 25, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

