Aaron Dembski-Bowden

Don't worry. None of this blood is mine.

The Difference Between Me & My Little Brother

Just a quickie today.

My brother and I recently started to try and explain our respective lives to each other, through the medium of YouTube videos. As you probably know, I’m a reclusive sci-fi novelist that hates every human being except my Irish pixie fiancee’, and I consider the fantasy novel genre (including my undead rogue in WarCraft…) more important than friends, family or religion. My brother, by contrast, is a hyper-social Fine Arts graduate who goes out in London all the time, and not only does he dress cool, he can actually dance. I wasn’t even aware members of our bloodline were allowed to dance, let alone that they’d be good at it.

As the opening salvo, I showed him this video to highlight the haunting truths of my life:

I mean, I knew he’d never grok the meanings of specific MMO stuff like “tank and spank”, but whatever. The overall theme is clear enough. (I love The Guild, by the by. It’s killer.)

He replied with this, about the terrible realities of his social scene:

I’m sure Mum is real proud of both of us.

September 12, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

21 Comments »

  1. Ive heard about The Guild but never taken to time to watch it. Sweden isnt nerdy enough to air it.

    Comment by Forkmaster | September 12, 2010 | Reply

  2. Oh my word. 🙂

    Comment by Katie | September 12, 2010 | Reply

  3. This has made my morning, sir.

    Comment by Suicyd | September 12, 2010 | Reply

  4. Yes I am proud of you both – but have to say prefer Adams trailer this time round🙂

    Comment by vivienne dembski | September 12, 2010 | Reply

  5. Wow. The experience of watching that second video has put so much into perspective for me. I think I’ll double-check that the door is locked and play some more Mass Effect 2.

    Comment by dethmunky | September 12, 2010 | Reply

  6. Perhaps we should have gone to football lessons.

    Comment by Adam Dembski-Bowden | September 12, 2010 | Reply

  7. I’m sure you could really cut a rug if you tried!😛 Just be careful about the Safety Dance…it was as safe as the song claimed!

    Comment by John the Great | September 12, 2010 | Reply

  8. “…I knew he’d never grok the meanings…”

    You live in rural Ireland, not Megacity One. Thank god you don’t need to use the English language for work. You’ll be using words like “doable” and “willn’t” next. WTF, my spell checker actually has “doable” in it. THERE IS NO SUCH WORD, YOU MEAN “POSSIBLE!!!”

    And the conclusions are:

    1) The music on your video was terrible, Adam’s much better. I mean, it’s so bad not even an attractive woman in short skirt can save it; not Girls Aloud bad, this is Saturday’s bad.

    B) Although in your video, the redhead was cute but the bald guy- not so much. I imagine you and Katie hear that a lot…

    Comment by G | September 12, 2010 | Reply

  9. I’d rather than an actual nerd/geek than a dickhead.

    The Guild FTW! And I hate you too Mr. Dembski-Bowden.

    Comment by Xhalax | September 12, 2010 | Reply

  10. In the US, we call these people ‘hipsters,’ and hunt them like deer.

    Comment by Lexington | September 13, 2010 | Reply

    • Hipsters = bane of the modern world. I hate them with a passion.

      Comment by spadoinkle | September 13, 2010 | Reply

      • We ruthlessly hunt them down in the streets. Damn Hipsters! Even worse might the Prepster.

        Comment by Lord Tharand | September 13, 2010

    • Unfortunately in the real world your dice won’t help you. The art scene isn’t considered ‘hip’ in the UK, it’s a sub-culture.

      Comment by Adam Dembski-Bowden | September 14, 2010 | Reply

  11. I love that disclaimer on the second video: “The BeeGees are in no way Dickheads”… very funny!

    Comment by seebo | September 13, 2010 | Reply

    • That and ‘tramp balls’ are my favourite parts.

      Comment by Adam Dembski-Bowden | September 14, 2010 | Reply

  12. As much as I worship you, your brother totally wins this one!! That song is fucking AWESOME, I finally have something to throw in the DICKHEADS face to show them how fucking retarded they all are!! You get half a point for posting… Looking forward to round two!!

    Comment by Danny | September 14, 2010 | Reply

  13. part of the joy I take in 40k is imagining how dickheads of that particular genus would fare there. neverending bucket of chuckles.

    Comment by david | September 15, 2010 | Reply

  14. There is no way the guy who posted the Famous G.I. JOE post can let your brother get the better of you.
    Not that you are incredibly buzy writing a dozen new books,but I think you can do better.

    Though the Dickhead song rocks,too bad I am just a Dick🙂

    Comment by BigWill | September 16, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

