Aaron Dembski-Bowden

Don't worry. None of this blood is mine.

My First Heretic

The heartwarming tale of one boy's quest to tear down the Imperium.

The First Heretic is finished. I’ve spent the last 31 hours straight going over the .pdf, making the absolutely final, no more, totally done now edits that mean it can finally be released into the hands of the printing goblins.

If you’re curious about page count, it’s pretty much the same as Nemesis and Fulgrim. We are talking, for all intents and purposes, of one chunkalicious book. The longest novel I’ve ever done – and I think probably the best-paced, as well as the best-written.

Mouseover the cover for a secret spoiler of actual dialogue between a Custodes and a Word Bearer. Don’t say I don’t spoil you, okay? Because I do. We both know it.

Now, if you don’t mind, I need to go to bed.

July 17, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized |

8 Comments »

  1. Hell yes!!! Finally we get to read it.

    Comment by Forkmaster | July 17, 2010 | Reply

  2. I can tell Simon is one of those kids who would ask to see your action man and then break it’s arm off, because he’s jealous.

    Comment by Rob | July 17, 2010 | Reply

  3. Excellent news Mr. D-B. Firmly looking forward to this. On a separate note – I finished Helsreach. F’ing A!!!

    Comment by Tim Kenyon | July 17, 2010 | Reply

  4. Hooray! I like Billy’s spear too. Though I’m left wondering if demonic-possessed lobster claw tastes the same as regular lobster or if it’s more decadent.

    Comment by Inache | July 17, 2010 | Reply

  5. Congratulations in getting through it, now do me a favour and email me that PDF? There’s a good chap!

    Comment by Tim the Corsair | July 17, 2010 | Reply

  6. Well done! I am so looking forward to reading it.

    Go and get some sleep – you deserve it …then GET BACK TO WRITING MORE AWESOME BOOKS FOR US!!! *whipcrack*

    Comment by Ilmarinen | July 17, 2010 | Reply

  7. Awesome, roll on November.

    I imagine the My First Heretic set comes with a set of cards where you get to pick how non-conformist you get to be, ranging from the basic (“iconoclave- smash your idols!” and “divorced, beheaded, died.”) to the more, er, heterodox (“Rabbi Jesus” and “Full Blown Bogomil Madness.”)

    Also, I think I’ve had this pre-ordered since you were DMing. Amazon are bad for that. “There’s a book coming out? I don’t care if it’s not written yet, get the orders in.” Still, your publisher knows your awesome, since your selling books before you’ve written them.

    Comment by G | July 18, 2010 | Reply

  8. Maybe the reason Simon became a heretic is because of his hidden and shameful love for Billy’s spear?

    Comment by Lord Tharand | July 18, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

