Aaron Dembski-Bowden

Don't worry. None of this blood is mine.

Good shot, kid. You got ‘im.

I come bearing gifts for you, my loyal bitches.

Firstly, this.

This is freaking wonderful. I admit, I actually laughed when he suddenly starts ‘Fireflies’ and does it, like, perfectly.

The second part is probably funnier. Watch that, too.

Or don’t. I’m not your babysitter. Leave me alone.

Secondly, I give you this, which I plan to suggest as another wedding song. It’s the seminal – the fucking seminal – masterpiece theme to Grand Theft Auto, released back in 1997, when I was 17, and you were sperm. You think you’re cool? You think it’s rad that you were population paste, when I was a confused old man of 17 long years? It’s not cool, because I was listening to this, and you weren’t even alive. You were just like, made of gloopy proteins, or whatever.

While I was joyriding.

I totally wish this played every time I walked into a room.

April 19, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

16 Comments »

  1. Don’t they sell t-shirts that you can load a MP3 into so you can have it play?

    Comment by Nick Risley | April 19, 2010 | Reply

  2. Firstly, that piano dude is taking busking to a new level.

    Secondly, rapping was (no offence, Jay-Z) definitely better back in ’97 as the GTA theme and Eminem prove.

    Thirdly, don’t you have a book to write? Or a D&D character to finish? I found out the group Nik’s running are due for level 4 in about 3 weeks! I know it’s not a race, but still…

    Comment by G | April 19, 2010 | Reply

  3. You sure have some eerie fascination with sperm…

    I still have Joyride on my ipod. the only rap/hiphop song that i have. Seminal would be putting its impact lightly. I challenge you, wordsmith, to find a phrase more fitting of that song.

    and lol “i told you not to touch that shit Ted!”

    Dave

    Comment by Commissar Ploss | April 19, 2010 | Reply

  4. I was 13 in 1997…..well for the second half of 97 anyway.

    Comment by Xhalax | April 19, 2010 | Reply

  5. ’97 I turned 21. I don’t remember a great deal of that year.

    Comment by Tim Kenyon | April 19, 2010 | Reply

  6. Funny, is it Ben Folds, or is that just one of those rumours? You should so have that to walk up the aisle.

    xxx

    Comment by Joey Jojo Shabadoo | April 19, 2010 | Reply

    • I was told with great authority that it was Ben Folds, but it could just be a rumour as you say. However, it’s brilliant and so is Folds so, you know.

      Comment by Dan Abnett | April 22, 2010 | Reply

  7. Population Paste should be the name of your memoir!

    Comment by John the Great | April 19, 2010 | Reply

    • Lol!

      I said those two words last night while at the pub with friends….their reactions were very amusing.

      Comment by Xhalax | April 21, 2010 | Reply

  8. Sir DB, just wanted to let you know that I’ve submitted my review of Soul Hunter for the editor’s red pen of doom. I’ll let BL and your good self know when it’s live. Oh and I didn’t mention the handbag debateūüôā

    Comment by Phillip | April 19, 2010 | Reply

  9. I was 16 through the majority of 1997.

    And while it wouldn’t exactly work as a wedding song, being 15 seconds long and all, if I could have a song play every time I went into a room it’d be the Atlas Plaza theme from City of Heroes. (http://wiki.cohtitan.com/w/images//1/14/AtlasPark_AtlasPlaza.ogg)

    Comment by MythicFox | April 19, 2010 | Reply

  10. I love those piano-vids, “This girl is so serious about the number 333!” His improviced songs are actually really good.

    How about the Old School wedding band The Dan Band: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cIRiZsDObrU

    Comment by Forkmaster | April 20, 2010 | Reply

  11. If you want, I could spend a little time in the studio and make a properly mixed medley of all your possible wedding tunes, though of course, the original GTA theme would rank highest among them.

    Plus, here is the link to the tshirt mentioned above:
    http://www.thinkgeek.com/tshirts-apparel/interactive/a5bf/
    With the option of 20 sound files on your own SD card, you could quite literally have the perfect track for any moment.

    And of course you and Katie could get these, and be forever entwined in geeky, matching-clothes love:
    http://www.thinkgeek.com/tshirts-apparel/interactive/a090/

    Comment by Fantomex | April 20, 2010 | Reply

  12. I was 9 in 1997 and was loving playing GTA round my friends house was an awesome agme despite its many flaws looking back and had totally forgotten about this song so cheers for the reintroduction.

    p.s. at the bit in soul hunter between Talos and Abbadon brilliant so far and among the best ive read from BL so i may jsut pick up a copy of hellsreach when i have time.

    Comment by cor | April 20, 2010 | Reply

  13. Not certain how to get in touch with you but I assume you get an email for each comment. My review of Soul Hunter is now live at bscreview.com http://tinyurl.com/y6h9ezu

    I’ve let BL know.

    Comment by Phillip | April 20, 2010 | Reply

  14. ‘Take it to the edge there’s nowhere to hide let’s call up the boys we’re going for a joyride’

    Fucking brilliant :o) I need to find my copy of GTA now…

    Oh yeah, my review is up for ‘Helsreach’. That was bloody good too.

    http://www.graemesfantasybookreview.com/2010/04/helsreach-space-marines-battles-aaron.html

    Cheers,

    Graeme

    Comment by Graeme | April 24, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

