Aaron Dembski-Bowden

Don't worry. None of this blood is mine.

Shadow Knight

I promised my last remaining copy of ‘Shadow Knight’ (the Soul Hunter prequel story about First Claw) to someone on the old Black Library forums.

Now, me being me, I didn’t get the guy’s details before the website kerploded. I’ve been sitting on that last copy, waiting for the website to come back up so I could ask who the hell that guy was. And now the website’s finally back up? No forum to ask on.

I remember he was a guy serving in the army… posted to…  somewhere. A place, certainly. Definitely a location.

And he did… stuff. Army things, I guess. I don’t know. What am I, a fucking colonel?

My point is this. If you’re reading this, and you’re that guy I messaged way back when to say I’d send you my last ‘Shadow Knight’, send me a message and I’ll do it ASAP.

I didn’t forget. I’m just an idiot.

A.

March 22, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | ,

9 Comments »

  1. Dude, you wanna ask the British legion (if he was British,) they should be able to track him down.

    Shadow Knight was the novella, wasn’t it? Is that going to be included in the eventual omnibus, if so, I’m going to have books heading to the charity shop, aren’t I?

    But… I’ll say it once and once only, to avoid ranting. It’s not cool putting “exclusive” stuff in omnibuses / omnibii for the sake of people who never bought a book first time round.

    Black Library aren’t alone in this, Roadrunner records do something similar with any album on their roster worth listening to. You pre-order it, giving them a successful first week, then a year later a “Special Edition” comes out with a whole extra disc of material. And, if you don’t support the stuff you like (waiting for a re-release, instead) it get’s dropped and you lose out that way.

    I’m not gonna freeze you out like that, but I have done it with other authors/ bands/ TV series that only seem to get released on DVD and have their timeslots moved around. I’m losing out either way, so there’s not much incentive to support your favourite author/ band/ nomadic TV show.

    Which is a shame really because it does nothing but support the idea that what everybody really wants are celebrity biographies and X-factor, but other than voting with my wallet, there’s no way of getting the message across to the people who run the show (figuratively speaking, not X-Factor, specifically.)

    Well, I suppose I could go and whine on the author’s blog, but that’s a bit undignified.

    Since when did I have any dignity?

    Comment by G | March 22, 2010 | Reply

  2. You aren’t an idiot! You have a lot on your plate at the moment!

    Comment by John the Great | March 22, 2010 | Reply

  3. Aaron, I now need to track down a copy of that story too, I wonder if I can find on on e-bay.

    Also, I have been having some trouble tracking down your email address. Could you either point me in the right direction or send me a email to jpowell37@gmail.com so we would get the details worked out for Podcasting at Adepticon. My cohost and I are looking forward to talking to you.

    Comment by HuronBH | March 22, 2010 | Reply

  4. I’m a soldier. Do I get a cookie?

    SB

    Comment by StealthBuda | March 23, 2010 | Reply

  5. What regiment you in?

    Comment by serenity | March 23, 2010 | Reply

  6. Theres a prequel to Soul Hunter?!?!

    Comment by Child-of-the-Emperor | March 23, 2010 | Reply

  7. Yeah,It’s called The Horus Heresy.:p

    Comment by BigWill | March 23, 2010 | Reply

  8. The person you are looking for is on the Bolter and Chainsword forums I don’t remember his name either but I remember the post anyways if you never get a chance to get it to him let me know where I might be able to find a copy it would be much appreciated.

    Comment by Renegadewarp | March 27, 2010 | Reply

  9. His name was Geradin on the site….not sure what his name is on Bolter and Chainsword….

    Comment by Corrigan Phoenix | April 18, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

