Aaron Dembski-Bowden

Don't worry. None of this blood is mine.

“LOL GHEY LOL” – Battlecry of the foolish man.

Family Guy's finest moment, made funnier by adding a toadfroggle.

I have an idea that I think is pretty wonderful.

Now, do I use it in The First Heretic, knowing that it’s likely that some… uh… opinionated and battle-hungry readers are going to call me out about how “gay” it is, or do I save it for my own fantasy series that I’m slowly writing when deadlines allow?

Sincerely,

A.

March 17, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized |

19 Comments »

  1. Use it mate. i say go for it. Critics and their “gayness” comments can just go stuff it!

    CP

    Comment by Commissar Ploss | March 17, 2010 | Reply

  2. I think… depending on just HOW wonderful you think it is, you should save it for your own series. Certainly everything that you’ve written in the WH World thus far is perfectly adequate (actually, it’s more than adequate, but I’m not telling you that) – so there’s nothing to prove there.

    My vote is for ‘save it’…

    🙂

    Comment by Pyroriffic | March 17, 2010 | Reply

  3. If it’s that great, work it into everything in even more secret ways than you did in the last book. Then laugh the evil laugh of a super genius at your own brilliance.

    Comment by Xhalax | March 17, 2010 | Reply

  4. I’d say use it in your own stuff. Remember though, whatever you do. I would still call you gay. >:)

    Comment by Sander | March 17, 2010 | Reply

  5. If you even think it wouldn’t go down too well in the Land of GW Readers, then don’t even consider it… Because I would utterly hate to have to hunt you down and kill you, in the process dedicating you skull to the Skul-, I mean, Golden Throne.

    As I mentioned elsewhere, I love Cadian Blood, but don’t go and ruin it for me!

    – CJJ

    Comment by Archangel | March 17, 2010 | Reply

  6. does it have something to do with reducing the amount of fighting in whichever book (“battle-hungry readers” might not like it…)?? because I think the Horus Heresy series have benefitted greatly from (in places) a reduced fight count.

    whatever it is, just find out where you Writer’s Brain (/Heart..?) wants it*, and put it there. failing that, put it everywhere! saturate us with your brilliant idea. go on, it’s a dare.

    *don’t ask how; by then you’ll know how.

    Comment by KarlMkVI | March 17, 2010 | Reply

  7. I’m reasonably sure that there will be homo-errotic tensions throughout the First Heretic, purely on the basis of the legion it’s covering.

    Comment by Schafe | March 17, 2010 | Reply

    • You’re thinking of the World Eaters. They’re like American high school jocks who play rough and date girls they don’t like, just to cover up the knee-trembling truth.

      Comment by aarondembskibowden | March 17, 2010 | Reply

      • Is that because British high school jock is a fallacy? 😉

        Comment by John the Great | March 17, 2010

  8. Don’t second-guess yourself. Go with your gut reaction.

    Also; we’re setting up an “ask the authors” section over at the BL Bolthole forum. You up for that?

    Comment by James Swallow | March 17, 2010 | Reply

    • Hm. My gut instinct is to put it in, and pray for good ideas again later. It’ll amplify the number of people already calling Lorgar and the Word Bearers gay for not being retarded barbarians, but whatever.

      Also, yeah, I think I’m in. Though I need to cut down on my forum time, it’s getting a bit debilitating, yo.

      Comment by aarondembskibowden | March 17, 2010 | Reply

  9. I was going to offer an opinion (keep it yourself,) but decision made; bonanza.

    And what’s with dissing the World Eaters? Alright, their primarch probably wore a leather skirt and sandals for most of his life, but that’s because he was Spartacus. I think it’s a shame that the whole legion gets painted (often quite literally) as nothing but frothing berserkers.

    Surely, there are the Chosen and Terminators as well? And I like the idea of World Eater Havocs, with autocannons, firing indiscriminately. And World Eater bikers, eager to get stuck in.

    Note to self: finish Tyranids and Vampires, start World Eaters.

    Comment by G | March 17, 2010 | Reply

  10. If you think it’s cool then put it where ever you want. I think you’ll find that if you remove stuff from your books because of what frothing fanboys consider “gay” your books will end up looking more like pamphlets. Screw ’em! If you think it’s cool, I’ll look forward to reading it.

    Comment by Phillip | March 17, 2010 | Reply

  11. Is that a Greater or Lesser Catachan Barking Toad? Either way, we’re all dead.

    Comment by Ilmarinen | March 17, 2010 | Reply

  12. That frog is adorable. The Family Guy quote helps it so.

    I say go with your gut instinct. If the idea is absolutely wild and crazy I’m sure the BL guys would let you know, otherwise I’m sure you’ll make the idea rock if you use it in First Heretic.

    Comment by John the Great | March 17, 2010 | Reply

  13. Courage, Sir – courage.

    Comment by Brad | March 17, 2010 | Reply

  14. On seconds thoughts, given some of the tripe that gets released; stick it in!

    It can’t be worse than so, mentioning no names *Goto*….

    Comment by Archangel | March 17, 2010 | Reply

  15. Use it, it can’t be worse than Twilight.

    Comment by viktor | April 9, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

