Aaron Dembski-Bowden

Don't worry. None of this blood is mine.

Blog: Mark II

It’s the first post, so I’ll keep this short. We all know I never will again.

2009 had us all by the tenderest areas, squeezing the dangling, metaphorical junk of our lives in merciless hands with fingers that were way too cold. But that’s done now.  We’ve evolved. All of us have moved on, temporally-speaking. You. Me. Some jerk over there. We’re past it now.

One of the things I needed to do with the ascension to 2010 was start a blog that didn’t suck. See, if it doesn’t suck, then I’ll want to update it more – and a large part of why it sucked was because of where it was. Once you get to 20 you start to feel a bit icky being on MySpace, right? Once you pass 25, you begin to feel the same way about LiveJournal. At least, I sure did.

So here’s the deal.

I’m going to let this pointless opening post stew here for a day or two, growing lumpen and fetid in its foul juices, and then I’ll actually try to update this bad boy more than once per decade, as my various friends, colleagues and random internet scum are forever telling me to do. It’s almost a minor form of selling out; trying to meet their demands for once – the fine art of jumping through the occasional hoop. It goes against my instinctive slacker lifestyle, and that makes it hard to justify. And yet, it’s happening.

“Never compromise,” Rorschach said, “even in the face of Armageddon.”

Well, he was a crazy asshole who didn’t wash, and a naked man made him explode into crimson mush. So screw what Rorschach said. I go to different parties, where stuff like that isn’t likely to happen to me. We walk in different circles. And I’m way better looking.

At the moment, I’m working on a weird (and curiously personal) back and forth discussion with Dan Abnett, chewing over our relative writing jazz with Black Library. It’ll be on the relaunched BL website, whenever that eventually comes to pass. When is the relaunch? Good question. At this stage, if it beats Jesus out for the Second Coming, I’ll consider it a victory.

January 25, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

20 Comments »

  1. Much cleaner – in many ways. 🙂

    Comment by Mark | January 25, 2010 | Reply

  2. AHA!

    That’s right Mr. Dembski-Bowden….jump through the hoop!

    Score one for internet scum!

    Muahahahahahahahaha!

    And so on and so forth.

    Comment by Xhalax | January 25, 2010 | Reply

  3. Also….why is there a little smilie face at the very bottom of the page? ’tis rather off putting.

    Comment by Xhalax | January 25, 2010 | Reply

    • I think he comes with the theme. Be nice, I like him. We’re allies.

      Comment by aarondembskibowden | January 25, 2010 | Reply

      • Ah, I see. It’s just he was decidely unexpected….I thought I was going crazy until I realised there was a smilie face watching me.

        Comment by Xhalax | January 26, 2010

  4. Well, he was a crazy asshole who didn’t wash, and a naked man made him explode into crimson mush. So screw what Rorschach said.

    I will, in fact, be quoting you on that.

    Comment by Proteus454 | January 25, 2010 | Reply

  5. I thought the smiley face at the bottom of the page WAS Rorschach.

    Comment by Dan Abnett | January 26, 2010 | Reply

  6. I only just noticed him, that’s strange. It’s like the internet is watching me.

    Comment by Admiral Stephen Steve Steveman | January 27, 2010 | Reply

  7. A glowing blue naked man made him explode into crimson mush. With glowing blue everthing. I’m rather reassured that you don’t got to parties with people like this.

    Congrats on the new blog. Looks good.

    Are we going to hear about your discussion with Mr Abnett? Hope so.

    Comment by Ilmarinen | January 27, 2010 | Reply

    • Absotively, the convo with Dan is being done with a mind to posting it – probably in a few chunks, as it’s getting quite long.

      Comment by aarondembskibowden | January 27, 2010 | Reply

  8. Oh great. A typo. In my first frikkin reply on the new blog.

    Genius.

    Comment by Ilmarinen | January 27, 2010 | Reply

  9. I had to look for the smiley… I wish I did not. I can’t help to notice it every time I visit the blog now, always looking and smiling like some pervert.

    Comment by Sander | January 27, 2010 | Reply

  10. Personally, I like the little guy.

    Smile on, little dude, smile on.

    Comment by Katie | January 27, 2010 | Reply

  11. Good luck with the new blog and with your writing, love your work so far, take care man 😉

    Comment by Aximand | January 27, 2010 | Reply

  12. Good for the new blog, both been highly entertaing. Add another voice to the “more!” cries.

    Comment by xisor | January 28, 2010 | Reply

  13. Thanks for helping me dodge work ;-).

    And in regards to that red head you mentioned up in the ‘who why’ bit of this site. We (me and some others) thought she was a big distraction. Congratulations with the new blog, and good luck keeping it updated (with all the distractions going on)

    Comment by Jerry | January 28, 2010 | Reply

  14. Like the new blog. Personally I thought Rorschach was rather an interesting chap. I’d rather see his mask than some smiley on the bottom of the page.

    Comment by chris | January 28, 2010 | Reply

  15. Updating more often? This’ll mean I’ll have to check the blog more often, see how late I am with commenting here, that is because I felt no need to check earlier because you wouldn’t have posted anything, and now you’ve posted two blogs.

    Why do you hate me? Why?

    Comment by schaferlord | February 3, 2010 | Reply

  16. Well, he was a crazy asshole who didn’t wash, and a naked man made him explode into crimson mush. So screw what Rorschach said.

    He’s also a riff off the Ditko-era Question, and thus a nutty Randroid objectivist. So most of what he says is bollocks anyway

    Comment by Stew | February 7, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

