Aaron Dembski-Bowden

Don't worry. None of this blood is mine.

Plotting & Planning, Writing & Hobbying

Things are pretty weird right now. The Horus Heresy Weekender is in a few days and I’m caught in the strangest situation where three unprecedented things are all taking place at once.

  • Firstly, I’m not currently late with any work, which is a miracle in its own right – one that I’m pretty sure deserves some kind of shiny-ass medal. That’s a shiny-ass medal and not a shiny ass-medal. Those are entirely different things awarded for entirely different achievements. I’ve also got a non-Black-Library short story on the go, which I’ll talk more about when I can.
  • Secondly, I’m actually doing hobby stuff again rather than making endless plans and then throwing a shit-fit when I decide I hate my kitbashes / paint scheme / my current hat / whatever else. I’ve talked a lot about my various army failures on Bolter & Chainsword, and I’ve not got the heart to repeat myself just yet. If I can find my previous lamentation, I might jazz it up and repost it, but if you imagine me kneeling in the scything rain and crying my helpless rage up to an uncaring sky, you’ll be zeroing in on just how shitty I usually feel about this stuff. Fuck, I’m the celebrated master of unpainted armies. If I can’t turn that around this time, I’m just going to give up and… I don’t know, throw rocks at cats. Is that a thing? I feel like that should be a thing.
  • Thirdly, I’m up to my throat in the delicious back and forth of Heresy planning, as Master of Mankind pounds its way towards its inevitable, eventual realisation.  I had an early Skype call with Nick (of Clan Kyme) this very morning, throwing specifics at each other for… various projects… and there’s been a mountain of emails, text messages, and Facebook chatter between me, Laurie, and John French regarding the details of the Emperor, the Webway, and the girls and guys shedding blood in its webbish, wayish tunnels.

For the record, the  WIP thread of my Blood Angels Successors can be found right here. Feel free to bounce in and say various words of your own choosing, or ignore it in the previously vindicated belief that all my hopes of progress will crash and burn. I won’t judge you.

Not out loud, anyway.

I’ll post updates here, as well. Right now I’m waiting for a bunch of bitz so I can kitbash the other three models of the First Five, which will comprise 3 Assault Marines, 1 Tactical Marine, and 1 Devastator crewman for my Rapier Laser Destroyer battery.

I need very specific parts for this to look the way I want, especially for the RLD array. I’ve got some swish ideas for that, based on this old chestnut:

Yes. A Thudd Gun. A beautiful, wonderful Thudd Gun.

Yes. A Thudd Gun. A beautiful, wonderful Thudd Gun.

When I get to my first major Angels Numinous post, I want to post some of the classic Rogue Trader and Second Edition stuff I’ve got in my inspiration folder, to give you an idea of where I’m going with this. For now, I’ll stick with vague intentions and hopefully stun the world with some actual progress relatively soon.

As for what I’m writing right now, it’s a cross between picking the nits off sections of The Lord Inquisitor: Prologue, and something non-Heresy-related that has the following words featuring pretty heavily: “Blackmane”, “Space”, “Wolves”, “Dark”, and last but not least, “Angels“.

Oh, and “Duel”.

Also, “Orks”.

Before I flee (and speaking of LordI) you may be interested in the following little slices from the update cake:

A nekked WIP of one of the Grey Knights.

A nekked WIP of one of the Grey Knights.

 

 

+ Thought for the Day: Bait, Beat, Retreat, Repeat. +

 

 

 

 

 

May 14, 2014 - Posted by | Uncategorized

6 Comments »

  1. Okay, I’ll bite and post the obvious question: what’s the non-Black Library short story about? I’ll take a wild guess and say something Roman. You like Rome, right?

    Following on from that, you may agree with me when I say BL books have a dark, distinct writing style. When it comes to writing non-BL stories, do you enjoy playing around with your own writing style? If you’re anything like me, you’ll find the BL writing style cool to read, but fairly difficult to write in. It’d be interesting to know what you think.

    Cheers for your time.

    Comment by James | May 14, 2014 | Reply

  2. We saw a lot of mystery surrounding how Emps supposedly went from SSJ1 – SSJ4 on Molech. You planning on touching on any of that?

    Comment by TheSGC | May 14, 2014 | Reply

  3. Ooh, nekkid Grey Knights! Now we know what Mersadie Oliton was so keen on taking pictures of in Horus Rising.

    Comment by Alison Margo Smaalders | May 15, 2014 | Reply

  4. So you’re saying you no longer want the shiny ass-medal I’ve got delivered to you? I mean damn, it took me at least a day and a half to forge, hammer out and filigree. All that damned work for nothing…

    Comment by dweese33 | May 15, 2014 | Reply

  5. […] haven’t written a general update for a while, but having read Aaron’s post on this matter on Wednesday, I thought I’d do one too. Me, I’m totally […]

    Pingback by Stuff happens, has happened, is happening | Haley's Comment | May 16, 2014 | Reply

  6. Damnit, I’m going to be such an icredibly happy girl. Looking forward to Talon of Horus (yay, traitor Marines, and a Thousand Son to boot). And now the words “Blackmane”, “Space”, “Wolves”, “Dark”, and “Angels“ put this huge smile on my face.

    Comment by dorian | May 23, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 582 other followers

